In the year 1878, F.A. classes were opened, and Odia was taught as a compulsory subject. The subject Odia was upgraded to be taught as an optional subject. In 1944 B.A., B.Sc. and B. Com classes were introduced in Khallikote College and Odia continued as a subject at graduation level. In 1967 Odia became an honours subject. In 1993 Odia Dept. was glorified as a Postgraduate department with affiliation for 16 seats. Since then, in its glorious journey the M.Phil. course in Odia with a strength of 8 seats started in the year 2015.

This department has witnessed several outstanding scholars with their contribution towards Odia Literature. The first ever teaching faculty of Odia Department Dr. Kunja Buhari Das (Folklore), Dr. Upendra Nayak (Folklore), Prof. Sudarsana Acharya (Medieval Literature), Dr. Banamali Rath (Medieval Literature), Dr. Durga Madhab Nanda (Medieval Literature), Dr. Bauri Bandhu Sahu (Medieval Literature), Dr. Ratnakar Chaini (Odia Drama), Dr. Kshetrabasi Nayak (Modern Literature), Dr. Brahmananda Singh (Modern Literature), Prof. Sitaram Mohapatra (Modern Literature), Prof. Debi Prasanna Pattnaik (Modern Literature), Dr. Labanya Nayak (Modern Literature), Dr. Pramoda Parida (Modern Literature), Dr. Jayashree Mishra (Religion), Dr. Apanna Pradhan (Linguistics), Prof. Bailadu Panigrahi (Linguistics), Dr. Santosini Panda (Linguistics) were the gems of Odia Department. Mrs. Uttama Jena was honoured as the first Principal from Odia dept. and 1st Registrar of Khallikote Unitary University.

Aims & Objectives:

  1. To create a literary atmosphere to facilitate creative writing among the students.
  2. To keep the students abreast of the past and present trend of Odia literature.
  3. To shape the young minds on the base of humanity and values.
  4. To develop the ability and aptitude for research in Odia language and literature.
  5. Career orientation of students in the field of Odia language and literature.

Honours in Undergraduate classes of 3 years. Postgraduate classes of 02 years & M.Phil. of 01-year duration.

Name: Dr. Bidyutprava Sahu
Designation: Assistant Professor
Email: NA
View Profile

Name: Dr. Usha Rani Rath
Designation: Assistant Professor
Email: NA
View Profile

Name: Dr. Basant Kumar Sethy
Designation: Guest Faculty
Email: NA
View Profile

Name: Ms. Swarnalata Bisoi
Designation: Guest Faculty
Email: NA
View Profile

  1. Virtual Classroom
  2. Seminar Library
  3. Seminar Discussion and
  4. Doubt Clear classes.

Activities of Dept:

National Seminar – 02
State Level – 02
UGC Sponsored – 01
Department Seminar – 25
Celebrated every year –
a. World Mother Tongue Day (21st February)
b. Classical Odia Language Day (11th March)
Wall Magazine

Name Position Place
Dr. Sidharth Sankar Padhy Assistant Professor Khallikote Unitary University
Dr. Pradosh Kumar Swain Assistant Professor Central University of Odisha
Sri. Bibhisana Bhuyan Lecturer (SSB) Samantiapalli College
Ms. Anjali Majhi Lecturer (SSB) Panchayat College, Dharmagada
Sri. Biranchi Nayak Lecturer (SSB) Panchayat College, Bargarh
Ms. Kamalini Behera NET.  
Sri. Ranjit Kumar Parida NET.  
Ms. Swarnalata Bisoi NET.