The Department of Physics is an inherent constituent of Khallikote (Autonomous) College, Berhampur which is more than a century old premier institution of Odisha. This institution started functioning from the year 1887. The Department of Physics of the college developed in stages. Started with the intermediate stage, it was then extended to the graduate level from 1944. Physics (Hons) Course was introduced in 1962 and finally shaped into a post graduate department of Physics since 1982. 

The Department offers following courses:

Serial Number Course offered Strength
A Undergraduate Courses in Physics
1 B.Sc(+3)Honours (Six semesters: three years) ( I , II , and IIIrd year ) 62each
2 General Elective (I & II yr) 4 semesters         192 each
3 Physics as ACEE,DSE 4 Semesters 128 each
B Post graduate courses in Physics
1 M.Sc(  Part-I and Part-II)(4 semesters) 2yrs 16 each
2 M.Phil. in physics(2 semester) 1 yr 08 each

Name: Sri Rajata Kumar Mansingh
Designation: Head and Assistant Professor
View Profile

Name: Dr. Pranati Kumari Rath
Designation: Assistant Professor
View Profile

Name: Dr. Sambit Ranjan Mishra
Designation: Assistant Professor
View Profile

Name: Mr.Suman Kumar Padhy
Designation: Guest Faculty
Email: ——
View Profile

Name: Ms. Nilima Priyadarsini Swain
Designation: Guest Faculty
Email: ——
View Profile

Name: Ms. Pravasini Swain
Designation: Guest Faculty
Email: ——
View Profile


  1. Banabihari Panighary(Retd.Prof.)
  2. Laxmikanta Tripathy(RDE,Dept.of Higher Education.)
  3. Sidhartha Sankar Panda(Berhampur University)
  4. Prof Sukantakumar Tripathy(Berhampur University)


P.G. Dept. of Physics, Khallikote Unitary University, Berhampur is equipped with the following infrastructural facilities to cater to the needs of both Physics and Computer Science Students.

  1. Lecturer Hall 03 Nos. (with OHP Facility).
  2. Laboratories:-
  3. G. General Laboratory                                               01        (16 Seated)                             
  4. G. Electronics Lab                                                       02        (16 Seated)
  5. +3 Honours Laboratory                                             01        (32 Seated)
  6. +3 General Laboratory                                               01        (32 Seated)
  7. Research Lab.                                                               01
  8. Demonstrator Laboratory                                          01
  9. HOD&Staff Common Room                                      01 No.                        
  10. Seminar Library                                                           01 No.
  11. Reading Room-cum-Seminar Hall                           01 No.
  12. Central Store of the Department                               01 No.
  13. SEMINAR CUM COMMUNICATION LAB             01 No.
  14. Work shop 01 No.
  15. Lavatory 01 No.

Important Instruments:- 

The department is equipped with following modern instrumental facilities:

    1. Overhead projector             –           02
    2. Slide projector                        –           01
    3. Film projector             –           01
    4. LCD Projector             –           02
    5. Interacting Board             –           01
    6. Michelson Interferometer –           01
    7. Fabryperot Interferometer –            01
    8. Oscilloscopes –           05
    9. Research Optical Bench –           04
    10. AC Generators –           01
    11. GM Counter             –           01
    12. Various types of Amplifiers
    13. Various types of Oscillators
    14. Audio-Visual aids for theory, practical and seminar classes.

Besides these, the department possesses all the basic instruments and teaching aids for conducting at UG and PG classes(both theory and practical).

The Alumni Of This Department

Name Position Place
PROF Dr M R Patro Prof in computer Science BU
Lef. Cornel Madhab   Sunamudi
Prof Siba Kumar Ugtrgata Central University Hyderabad
Dr L.K Tripathy Regonal Director HE(Odisha)
Dr. Santosh Kumar Panigrahi Chief General Manager RBI
Sri Purna Pradhan   Beguniapada College
Dr Prabina Kumar Nanda Physics Lecturer Ganjam College
Dr Pradep Kumar Nanda Physics Lecturer Hinjilicut Science College
Dr Harihar Muni Physics Lecturer Dura Science College
Dr R.P.Das Lecturer in Electronics K.S.U.B College, Bhanja Nagar
Dr.Sudhir Kumar Panda Lecturer in Physics Patapur Science College
Dr. S.K Agrawal Ex-Research Scholar of the Department Asst Prof in Physics FM University Balsore
Pratyush Panda IIT-JAM’22- AIR 409 IIT Hyderabad(M.Sc. in Physics)
Dilip Himirika IIT-JAM’21- AIR 56 IIT Bombay (M.Sc. in Physics)
Subhrajeet Maharana NIMCET’22 -AIR 501 NIT Jamshedpur (MCA)
Debadatta Panda HCU’21 UoH M.Sc. in Physics
Sahil Mallik DUET’21 DU M.Sc. in Physics
Pratikshya Panda University Topper – CPET’21 – Rank 1 Berhampur University in Physics
Ramakanta Behera Selected in IBPS CLERK Serving Union Bank, Boudh district, Odisha
M. Sheetal   IIT jam and  JEST